Reset Setting Change contrast to brightChange contrast to originalChange contrast to darkChange to thin layoutChange to default layoutChange to wide layoutChange font size to lower sizeChange font size to original sizeChange font size to large size
  jata  Malaysia's Free Trade Agreements


Malaysia’s FTAs

Malaysia has signed 16 FTAs and implemented 14 FTAs (7 bilateral FTAs and 7 regional FTAs).

Collectively, in 2019, trade with countries covered by both the regional and bilateral FTAs accounted for 66.7% of Malaysia’s total trade or RM1.22 trillion. Exports to FTA countries amounted to RM672.1 billion while imports totaled at RM551.5 billion.

As for the first 9 months of 2020, trade with FTA partners accounted for 66.5% or RM860.6 billion. Exports amounted to RM483.29 billion, while imports totaled at RM377.31 billion.


Bilateral FTAs


 Date of Entry into Force (EIF)

 1. Malaysia-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (MJEPA)

13 July 2006

 2. Malaysia-Pakistan Closer Economic Partnership Agreement (MPCEPA)

1 January 2008

 3. Malaysia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (MNZFTA)

1 August 2010

 4. Malaysia-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (MICECA)

1 July 2011

 5. Malaysia-Chile Free Trade Agreement (MCFTA)

25 February 2012

 6. Malaysia-Australia Free Trade Agreement (MAFTA)

1 January 2013

 7. Malaysia-Turkey Free Trade Agreement (MTFTA)

1 August 2015


Regional FTAs


 Date of Entry into Force (EIF)

 1. ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA)


 2. ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement (ACFTA)

1 July 2003

 3. ASEAN-Korea Free Trade Agreement (AKFTA)

1 July 2006

 4. ASEAN-Japan Comprehensive Economic Partnership (AJCEP)

1 February 2009

 5. ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (AANZFTA)

1 January 2010

 6. ASEAN-India Free Trade Agreement (AIFTA)

1 January 2010

 7. ASEAN-Hong Kong Free Trade Agreement (AHKFTA)

13 October 2019


FTAs Signed but Pending Ratification and Entry into Force

  1. Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) - signed on 15 November 2020

  2. Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) - signed on 8 March 2018


FTAs Currently Negotiated

  1. Malaysia-European Free Trade Association Economic Partnership Agreement (MEEPA)

Last Updated 2020-11-27 13:13:45 by Azuna Hasbullah atau Abd Rahman

  • Print
  • Email this page

DISCLAIMER: The Government and MITI accept no liability for any claim, loss, damage or expense arising from the use of information on this site. Please liaise with the relevant authority / importing customs authority for better accuracy.

MIDA MATRADE MPC MIDF MARii MSI SIRIM Berhad Exim Bank Department of Standards Malaysia (JSM) InvestKL MRM MPK My Gov