Reset Setting Change contrast to brightChange contrast to originalChange contrast to darkChange to thin layoutChange to default layoutChange to wide layoutChange font size to lower sizeChange font size to original sizeChange font size to large size
  jata  Malaysia's Free Trade Agreements

facebook twitter youtube blog



The Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) builds on the FTA signed by the Pacific 4 (P4) countries, New Zealand, Singapore, Chile and Brunei Darussalam in 2005 and came into force in 2009.

TPPA is a trade agreement between 12 Pacific Rim nations: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Viet Nam. These pioneer TPP members represent a market of 800 million people with a combined GDP of USD 27.5 trillion. As a landmark 21st century agreement, the TPP sets a new standard for global trade while taking up next-generation issues. 


Areas covered under TPPA include:

  1. Initial Provisions and General Definitions

  2. National Treatment and Market Access for Goods

  3. Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures

  4. Textiles and Apparel

  5. Customs Administration and Trade Facilitation

  6. Trade Remedies

  7. Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

  8. Technical Barriers to Trade

  9. Investment

  10. Cross Border Trade in Services

  11. Financial Services

  12. Temporary Entry for Business Persons

  13. Telecommunications

  14. Electronic Commerce

  15. Government Procurement

  16. Competition Policy

  17. State Owned Enterprises

  18. Intellectual Property

  19. Labour

  20. Environment

  21. Cooperation and Capacity Building

  22. Competitiveness and Business Facilitation

  23. Development

  24. Small and Medium-sized Enterprises

  25. Regulatory Coherence

  26. Transparency and Anti-corruption

  27. Administrative and Institutional Provisions

  28. Dispute Settlement

  29. Exceptions

  30. Final Provisions


Signed by the 12 countries on 4 February 2016 in Auckland, New Zealand the Agreement has not yet entered into force. On 23 January 2017, United States President Donald Trump signed a Presidential Memorandum to withdraw the US from TPP. The Agreement as it stands cannot enter into force without the US, as it accounts for 60% of the combined GDP of the 12 TPP members. To date, Japan and New Zealand have completed their domestic ratification process.

In light of the US withdrawal, the TPPA Ministers from the remaining 11 member countries convened a meeting on 21 May 2017 on the sideline of the APEC MRT Meeting in Hanoi, Vietnam and affirmed the economic and strategic importance of TPP, particularly as a vehicle for regional economic integration. This was the first meeting where all TPPA Ministers were involved following the withdrawal notification submitted by the US. The Ministers agreed that senior trade officials would consult over the coming months to consider next steps for the Agreement.

Read the press release here.


Any enquiry on the TPP can be directed to:

  1. Mr Syahril Syazli Ghazali
    Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) 
    Fax: 03-6211 3174
    Email: syahril@miti.gov.my
  2. Ms Sara Hani Mohd Zin
    Senior Assistant Director 
    Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) 
    Fax: 03-6211 3174
    Email: sarahani@miti.gov.my
  mida matrade mpc sme_corp hdc midf sme_bank mai msi gov